Jet ski riding Saban: I try to enjoy life

Nick Saban got on quite a roll yesterday. I can’t remember seeing him more relax and laughing that hard at a news conference. The topic of fun really got him going.

It started with a question about personal safety as it related to Arkansas coach Bobby Petrino’s motorcycle accident. Saban recalled his youth in West Virginia where his father didn’t approve of motorbiking …

“My best friend Charlie Anderson had a Triumph, and I mean that thing was hot. Where my dad’s service station was, there was a long straightaway and they used to race.

“Every time no one was looking I’d get on Charlie’s Triumph. I took it to my girlfriend’s house and she lived on the side of the mountain and there was a curve and the water was running across the street and a dog was chasing me down the street. I hit the water on the curve and I slid out. I didn’t get hurt, didn’t hurt the bike, just slid out.

” My dad found out about that and that’s the last time I’ve been on a motorcycle because he wore me out.”

Saban still has a need for speed and a disapproving voice of reason. He really got into answering a second question about that topic.

“I try to enjoy life. I still water ski. I ride them jet skis as fast as they’ll go and every two years I get the fastest ones they make to replace the last ones.

“Every year, Miss Terry (wife) has a fit, but that’s just the way it goes. There’s not very many things that I like to do, so … I try not to be stupid but I’m not going to not do things that I enjoy doing.

“You could hit with a golf ball, and I like playing golf too. You could have a fatal accident there, but I’m not going to not play golf because of it.”

Check out video of Saban’s smiles, click here for the  al.com version.


Also find and follow The Daily Bama Blog on:
Facebook: Facebook.com/dailybamablog

YouTube: /michaelcasagrande
NEW: Google+: Alabama football circle
Also see: River City Rumblings prep blog

Leave a Reply

