Donovan: Who knows who’ll be out there tomorrow night?

Florida coach Billy Donovan knows Anthony Grant well since the two worked together for years. They’ll meet again tomorrow night in Coleman Coliseum, but Donovan can’t say for sure which Alabama team he’ll face with four suspensions still hanging in the balance.

The collective status of Tony Mitchell, JaMychal Green, Trevor Releford, and Andrew Steele remains uncertain Monday morning.

“I don’t know what’s going to happen,” Donovan said. “The one thing I do know is, I know Anthony Grant about as well as anyone and I think he is a guy that has incredible integrity and character. He knows exactly how he wants his program run. Going into a game with that kind of situation, you’re always preparing for a full allotment of players. I don’t know what the suspensions will look like when we get to tomorrow, but for us, we’re going into it like they’re going to have a full allotment of players. That’s the only way you can do it.”

Grant was a Donovan assistant at Florida for 10 years (1996-06) before taking the head coaching job at Virginia Commonwealth.

Donovan also addressed the philosophy Grant uses when dealing with disciplinary issues.

“I really believe, that in order to win big, you have to be prepared to lose big,” Donovan said. “I think Anthony’s attitude is, he’s not going to be the kind of guy that will plug holes in a sinking ship. He’s just not going to plug it, because that stuff at some point, it’s going to rear its head and it’s going to bite you at some point.

“…An easy thing, I think a lot of times in coaching, is to look the other way.  But I don’t think your team can fully maximize its fullest potential until you as a coach are prepared to lose big. By Anthony doing that, I think he’s showing his team, that you know what, I’m prepared to lose big because I want to win big and there’s a certain way you have to go about winning big. And these things going on are not going to help us win big.

“I don’t know what happened. I don’t know anything about it. But I do know Anthony as a coach and as a man.”


Also find and follow The Daily Bama Blog on:
Facebook: Facebook.com/dailybamablog

YouTube: /michaelcasagrande
NEW: Google+: Alabama football circle
Also see: River City Rumblings prep blog

Leave a Reply

