D.J. Fluker releases statement through UA regarding draft status

Alabama right tackle D.J. Fluker just released the following statement through Alabama media relations:

“I know there have been a few stories and different things out on the message boards lately about me possibly leaving school early. I want to go ahead and put all of that to rest and make it clear that my intentions are to stay in school. At my position, I still have a lot to learn in order to mold myself into the best offensive tackle I can be. I’ve learned a lot from my coaches in my three years here and I feel like I can only get better with more experience.

The most important reason is to finish my degree. Right now, I am on track to graduate next December and that’s one of the things I promised my mother that I would do when I decided to come to the University of Alabama.

This is a special place and I’m looking forward to spending another year with my friends and teammates, graduating, and playing in front of the best fans in the country.”

Fluker is a sophomore, but would be eligible for the draft since he reshirted his first season at Alabama. He’s been projected as high as a first-round pick in a few mock drafts.

I’ll be honest, I don’t remember just a statement like this being made based on Internet speculation from untrained journalists.


Also find and follow The Daily Bama Blog on:
Facebook: Facebook.com/dailybamablog

YouTube: /michaelcasagrande
NEW: Google+: Alabama football circle
Also see: River City Rumblings prep blog

Leave a Reply

