Trash talk just part of ‘mind game’

Decatur Daily photo by Gary Cosby Jr.

Watching the game on TV, you know it when you see it. There’s no audio, but when a big catch is made or sack recorded, cameras capture the loose lips, nodding heads, and other various taunts.

It’s all part of the game, confident Alabama wide receiver Marquis Maze said.

“Yeah, it’s mostly a mind game,” said Maze. “You try to get in their head. You try to make them do stupid things, like commit penalties. It’s just a mind game. I talk a lot. Last week I didn’t talk as much. Coach told me they wanted to throw a flag on me against LSU, so I didn’t say anything this past week.”

And the nature of his barbs?

“I just call them sorry, stuff like that. Most of the time, I’m just talking,” Maze said. “Half the time I don’t even know what I’m saying.”

Nose guard Josh Chapman stays out of the verbal sparring.

“There’s a lot of talk out there, but I don’t call it trash talk,” he said. “I call it being competitive. That’s what lot of guys do. It’s going to be worse going across, because everybody wants to win. That’s why there’s a cause for talking.”


Also find and follow The Daily Bama Blog on:
Facebook: Facebook.com/dailybamablog

YouTube: /michaelcasagrande
NEW: Google+: Alabama football circle
Also see: River City Rumblings prep blog

Leave a Reply

